top of page

Mennonite Mom & PH Cooking, by Glenda & Jeannine

Updated: Oct 20, 2023

Hi, Everyone! I'm Glenda Joseph, and I am privileged to do a cooking demo on YouTube w/ my Mennonite Mom Friend, Jeannine Martin.

So here on this post, you will get the recipes for Chicken Alfredo & Mashed Potatoes, an introduction to Princess House (click here if you're in a hurry

and a glimpse into my Single Mom Life! (The recipes are at the end of this post, if you want to skip the other stuff!)

Jeannine is my church sister, and we have lots of great times together...like going to Ocean City....

....OR the times my feet wander over to her for a Delicious Cuppa from Mama Java, (No, she did not pay me to say that. I know it from experience!!)

However, I enjoy the talks we have, and I usually walk away challenged by a thought-provoking, well-rounded discussion. She has encouraged me more than once to step up to the plate and make some big changes in my life. I'm so very grateful to have a friend like her to bounce ideas off of!!




I'm the one single mom in this particular Mennonite Church here in Southern PA, and if ever a church has eased the lonely path of a single mom, this one surely has.

And Jeannine has been after to me to talk about it on her YouTube Channel...so I finally gave in and decided that I would...combined of course, with a cooking demo... just because I wanted to take her a meal, and I also like to cook! And, I thought maybe some of you could use some of these awesome kitchen products to make YOU feel like a Princess in your own Kitchen!

I have been a single mom for over 13 years, and if you like to read and you want to know more about my story, you can read about it right here on my Blog. It's intertwined with my pursuit of finding a job to support my family, and I found it in being a Princess House Consultant.



Princess House started 60 years ago (we are celebrating our 60th anniversary like crazy this year!), by a man named Charlie Collis. He was sitting in a restaurant one day, and got this brainstorm of a business plan. He wrote his idea on a napkin, went home, cleaned up an old chicken coop, and oh, la-la! Princess House was born! He named it Princess House, because he wanted a lady to feel like a Princess in her own house! He always said that no one is ever successful unless she helps someone else to succeed!!

When Princess House began, the consultants sold mainly crystal products. However, Charlie diversified into decor and kitchen products, and that is what has gotten us through the recession in 2008.

I joined Princess House almost 15 years ago...this October will mark the the 15 year mark. I didn't do very well when I first joined, as you will read about in my little stories, particularly My Princess House Journey, parts 3-6, but today, I'm so glad I didn't quit. It is my main income.

Start reading "My Princess House Journey, Part 1," and work your way through my story. It's full of all kinds of odd things & dreams & miracles God brought to supply our needs. If ever I feel sad, I just have to look back over my own life, and remember what God has done for me!!

I'm currently working on the 7th Part, (or Chapter), and wouldn't be surprised if someday, it's all compiled in a book!! Feel free to leave a question or a comment, or to subscribe to hear more. I try to post something every week.


I do everything online any more since Covid (Oh, yea! and I almost died Nov. 2021 from Covid...still making my way back from that...post coming up on that!), and I am actively looking for other online consultants to join me and my team as we spread the word ONLINE about these over-the-top kitchen products that make cooking so much fun, even if you hate to cook!!!

In fact, if you don't even know how to cook, no biggie! We provide all kinds of videos & photos and post examples, and you could become successful straight out of the gate, if you're willing to work hard, spend some time, and put a little effort in. If you want more info, click the button below! Or, message me!!



Want to watch the interview/cooking class on Jeannine's Youtube if you haven't seen it yet? Jeannine saw to it that I slid a wonderful little story in there of one time in particular that God took care of us when we were quite destitute. It also has a very non-proffessional cooking demo...I felt a little scattered as I cooked in front of the camera!!!! But hey, you are seeing it just like it is! Here's the link...click on the "Click me Button."


I'm going to post the links for each specific item so that it is very easy for you to find & learn about the different tools I used in my cooking demo! If you choose to purchase them, please be doubly sure that my name, Glenda Joseph, is listed as your consultant. If you can't find me, then please message me.

Be sure to attach yourself to a party order, (it doesn't matter if you know the person or not) because there are MORE specials & benefits on a party order than if you just place a random, unconnected order. Plus, your hostess will thank you very much!

And, don't tell Jeannine this, but an Immersion Blender is headed to her doorstep as a surprise to her, and a "Thank you" for being such a good friend.


Here's the Recipe:


Chicken Alfredo

Ingredients:

  1. 2 or 3 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts (depends how big they are), sliced in half lengthwise

  2. Your favorite garlic & herb seasoning

  3. 2 Cups Heavy Whipping Cream

  4. 1 Garlic Bulb, minced (If you don't have it, use a teaspoon of Garlic Powder.)

  5. 1 medium onion, diced

  6. 1 medium sweet pepper, diced

  7. 1 package of mushrooms, diced or sliced

  8. 2 C. Parmesan Cheese

  9. 1 C. Mozzarella Cheese, optional

Tools you will need:

-A Vida Sana Steam Seal piece of Cookware...the 11" Skillet OR the 2.5 qt. Casserole is great (if you are trying it for the first time, you may like the 2.5 qt. the best--I'll picture it below) but there are different sizes, and you can pick which one you wish to use. Steaming your veggies & meats can preserve up to 67% MORE vitamins & minerals, & can cook your food 29% faster! Who wouldn't want that? 🤩


The 2.5 qt. Vida Sana Casserole



-A Culinario II Series Knife


5" Santoku Knife. A Santoku Knife is very versatile...you can mince, slice or chop quite easily!!

-A Vida Sana Veggie Chopper


One of the Most Popular Items I sell, the Vida San Veggie Chopper

Instructions:

-Preheat your chosen Vida Sana Cookware on Medium Heat.

-While your pan is heating, slice your boneless skinless Chicken Breasts lengthwise, using your nice sharp Culinario Series II Knife. Then season liberally with salt & pepper & your Favorite Garlic & Herb Seasoning. (You can use Garlic Powder & Oregano or Italian Seasoning.)

-Perform the Water Test on your Cookware to see if it's ready. Here's how: Drop a bit of water on the bottom of your heating cookware. If the water dances across the bottom of the pan, Hurray!! It's ready! If it mostly evaporates, let it heat another minute, and try it again.

-After the water test passes, lay your chicken right in on the bare bottom of that pan!!! Don't use any grease or oil!! Let it fry until the edges start to turn brown, approx. 3-4 minutes. Don't try to flip it before that!! Then, after the edges turn brown, you can flip it. It should lift right up off the pan easily. If it sticks, give it another minute to fry.

-While your chicken is frying, wash, prep, & chop your veggies & mince your garlic!! I usually use my Veggie Chopper...it's a breeze. (If any of you don't like any mushrooms, onions, or peppers, just cut them out of the recipe! It will still be delish without it!)

-After you flip your chicken, just dump your chopped veggies & minced garlic (if you used it) on top of your chicken. You don't need any liquid! Place the lid with the Steam Seal Closed, on the cookware.


You want the arrow to be pointing straight up at the "Steam Seal" position.

-Let it steam without lifting the lid for about 4-5 minutes (it depends just a little on how thick your chicken breast is. Check it & see if it is done. If not, give it another minute or two.)

-When chicken is finished, lift it out onto your cutting board, and let it rest. It's much more juicy & tender when you do this.

-Add your 2 cups of heavy whipping cream to the veggies. Add your 1 tsp. Garlic Powder if you didn't use minced garlic. Then, add your 2 cups Parmesan Cheese. Stir, and bring to a simmer. Lower the temp. to medium low, and simmer for at least 5 minutes, stirring constantly. The longer you simmer it, the more the mixture will thicken and become like gravy.

-Cut chicken into slices or dices, and return to the pan with the gravy.

-Sprinkle with Mozzarella cheese, place lid on, and give it a minute to melt. (Sometimes, I sprinkle sliced Black Olives over the top, depending on who I'm serving.)

-Serve over pasta, mashed potatoes, or rice.

Bonus: it's gluten-free, and delicious.



Mashed Potatoes

Serves: 8-10 INGREDIENTS 8 potatoes, peeled and cubed 3 qt. water ½ cups sour cream

1 Tbsp. butter

1 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. black pepper


TOPPINGS 2 oz. chives, diced, optional


TOOLS

-the 4.5 qt. Vida Sana Staining Casserole





-the Immersion Blender...I think every American Household should have one of these!


The Immersion Blender: Blend, Chop, Mash, or Whip!



INSTRUCTIONS


  1. Place potatoes into Casserole, fill with water, cover with lid, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and simmer 7-8 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

  2. Drain potatoes, leaving just a little bit of the water in the bottom, replace lid, and let potatoes sit 2 minutes. Add butter, sour cream, salt, & pepper.

  3. Connect 2-piece Masher Attachment to Blender Motor and turn clockwise until it locks into position, using locked and unlocked icons as a guide, and plug into outlet (Masher features a connector attachment required for use with Blender Motor and will not work without it). Pour 1/3 of cream into potatoes, place Masher Attachment into potatoes in cookware, turn appliance on by pressing and holding speed I button, and adjust as necessary with speed control dial. Mash ingredients using a gentle up-and-down motion and moving through the food for up to 1 minute at a time to prevent motor from overheating. Repeat the process and mash to desired consistency.

  4. Serve topped with chives.

Enjoy Mashed Potatoes with Chicken Alfredo over it! Make it your way!


Don't forget to subscribe here to hear about my Journey, Part 7 that's coming up!




Love always, Glenda Joseph







5,048 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page